

#### FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Merissa Blum, 215-409-6645

mblum@constitutioncenter.org

# NATIONAL CONSTITUTION CENTER HONORS U.S. SENATOR JOHN MCCAIN DURING 29TH ANNUAL LIBERTY MEDAL CEREMONY

### Vice President Joe Biden to attend and U.S. Naval Academy Choir to perform

Philadelphia, PA (October 16, 2017) – Tonight at 7 p.m., Monday, October 16, the National Constitution Center will honor U.S. Senator John McCain during the 2017 Liberty Medal Ceremony, in recognition of his lifetime of service and sacrifice. National Constitution Center President and CEO Jeffrey Rosen will award the Liberty Medal to Senator McCain. Vice President Joe Biden, Chair of the National Constitution Center's Board of Trustees, will speak at the ceremony honoring his longtime friend. The U.S. Naval Academy Choir will perform. Howard Schultz, the Executive Chairman of Starbucks, will deliver a special tribute to Senator McCain's service on behalf of veterans.

The pre-show event will begin with an introduction from Vince Stango, Executive Vice President and COO of the National Constitution Center, followed by the presentation of colors by the U.S. Army, Philadelphia Metro Recruiting Company, and singing of the National Anthem by a soloist from the U.S. Naval Academy Choir.

The Liberty Medal ceremony will be introduced and hosted by National Constitution Center President and CEO Jeffrey Rosen. It will include remarks by President of the University of Pennsylvania Amy Gutmann, Starbucks Executive Chairman Howard Schultz, Chair of the Constitution Center's Board of Trustees Vice President Joe Biden, and honoree Senator John McCain.

In addition, the ceremony will feature biographical and tribute videos with greetings by Senator McCain's family and friends, past Liberty Medal recipients, fellow veterans, and colleagues, including: President George W. Bush; Secretary John Kerry; Senators Mitch McConnell, Chuck Schumer, Chris Coons, and Jeff Flake; former Senators Harry Reid and Joe Lieberman; former Pennsylvania Governor Tom Ridge; former Mayor of New York City Michael Bloomberg; Congressman John Lewis; Fox News' Brett Baier and Chris Wallace; and The Weekly Standard's Bill Kristol.

National Constitution Center President and CEO Jeffrey Rosen, accompanied by Vice President Joe Biden, will present Senator McCain with the 2017 Liberty Medal. The ceremony will conclude with remarks from Senator McCain and a performance by the U.S. Naval Academy Choir.

The event will be taped by WPVI-TV/6ABC for broadcast on Sunday, October 22 at 1 p.m. and Sunday, October 29 at 4:30 p.m. Viewers can watch the event live at <a href="www.6abc.com">www.6abc.com</a> or at <a href="www.6abc.com">www.6abc.com</a> or at <a href="www.constitutioncenter.org/libertymedal">www.constitutioncenter.org/libertymedal</a>.

## **About the Liberty Medal**

The Liberty Medal was established in 1988 to commemorate the bicentennial of the U.S. Constitution. Given annually, the medal honors men and women of courage and conviction who strive to secure the blessings of liberty to people around the globe. Proceeds from the Liberty Medal support the National Constitution Center's mission and its efforts to promote a greater understanding of the U.S. Constitution through education and civil discourse.

The National Constitution Center is grateful for the support of National Constitution Center Trustee, Ira Lubert of Lubert Adler, Citizens Bank, and Stradley Ronon, LLP.

#### **About the National Constitution Center**

The National Constitution Center in Philadelphia inspires citizenship as the only place where people across America and around the world can come together to learn about, debate, and celebrate the greatest vision of human freedom in history, the U.S. Constitution. A private, nonprofit organization, the Center serves as America's leading platform for constitutional education and debate, fulfilling its Congressional charter "to disseminate information about the U.S. Constitution on a nonpartisan basis." As the Museum of We the People, the Center brings the Constitution to life for visitors of all ages through interactive programs and exhibits. As America's Town Hall, the Center brings the leading conservative and liberal thought leaders together to debate the Constitution on all media platforms. As a center for Civic Education, the Center delivers the best educational programs and online resources that inspire, excite, and engage citizens about the U.S. Constitution. For more information, call 215-409-6700 or visit constitutioncenter.org.

###

EDITOR'S NOTE: A complete list of Liberty Medal winners follows.

## Past Recipients of the Liberty Medal

2016	U.S. Representative John Lewis
2015	His Holiness the Dalai Lama
2014	Malala Yousafzai*
2013	Hillary Clinton, former U.S. Secretary of State
2012	Muhammad Ali
2011	Robert M. Gates, former U.S. Secretary of Defense
2010	Tony Blair, former British Prime Minister
2009	Steven Spielberg
2008	Mikhail Gorbachev, former Soviet Leader

2007	Bono and DATA
2006	George H.W. Bush and William J. Clinton, former U.S. Presidents
2005	Viktor Yushchenko, President of Ukraine
2004	Hamid Karzai, President of Afghanistan
2003	Sandra Day O'Connor, U.S. Supreme Court Justice
2002	Colin Powell, U.S. Secretary of State
2001	Kofi Annan, United Nations Secretary-General*
2000	James Watson and Francis Crick, Co-Discoverers of the Structure of DNA
1999	Kim Dae-jung, President of South Korea*
1998	George J. Mitchell, former U.S. Senator and Irish peace negotiator
1997	CNN International
1996	King Hussein I of Jordan and former Prime Minister of Israel Shimon Peres
1995	Sadako Ogata, United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees
1994	Václav Havel, President of the Czech Republic
1993	F.W. de Klerk, President of South Africa* and Nelson Mandela, President of the African National Congress*
1992	Thurgood Marshall, U.S. Supreme Court Associate Justice (retired)
1991	Oscar Arias Sanchez, former President of Costa Rica and Médecins Sans Frontières (Doctors Without Borders)*
1990	Jimmy Carter, former U.S. President*
1989	Lech Walesa, Co-Founder of Solidarity, Poland

<sup>\*</sup> Subsequent Nobel Peace Prize Recipients